Sustainability and the environment

Wood is a renewable resource which is available in large quantities and offers the most varied types of application. 

 

There are 3.96 million hectares of forest in Austria - this corresponds to 47 % of the total surface area. 1.1 billion m³ of wood is available for use from the Austrian forest. In addition, 31 million m³ of wood is regenerated every year, of which only two thirds are used. Strict forest regulations make certain that after a tree is removed from the forest a new one is planted, which ensures the best levels of sustainability. 

 

Naturally we are PEFC-certified. We were the first Austrian timber manufacturer to be awarded this certificate. This provides our customers with additional assurance that the wood used for our products originates from sustained forest cultivation. 

 

As it grows, the forest stores levels of carbon. If wood is not used, the decaying process in the forest sets the carbon free again. By using wooden products, this carbon remains stored in the wood over a period of many years and thereby contributes to the alleviation of the CO2 problem.

Products made from wood use substantially less energy during their production than, for example, steel, plastic or concrete. Accordingly, these resources are conserved through the use of wood. 

 

When processing wood there is no waste. Any surplus wood is converted, for example, into paper or environmentally friendly fuels. 

 

Gluing: 

In gluing our glulam and glulam ceiling elements we use a melamine urea resin glue. 

 

The glue is waterproof and weather-resistant and produces light glued joints, which do not darken over time. The suitability of the glue and hardeners used has been examined by the MPA University of Stuttgart. It has been ascertained that the glue used for the production of glued construction components is suitable for interior and exterior use. This gluing system is low in formaldehyde - there are no increased levels of formaldehyde in completely hardened products in comparison to un-glued spruce wood. The waste water left over from the gluing process does not contain any dangerous chemicals and can be disposed of via the normal sewage system. The finished glued products may be placed in direct contact with food. 

 

We glue our finger-jointed battens using a PVAc synthetic resin dispersion glue. 

 

This glue bonds physically through the evaporation of the water. The gluing process produces a flexible glued joint, which is water resistant but not resistant to UV light. The glue is completely non-toxic and free from formaldehyde both in its liquid and hardened forms.

Nachhaltigkeit und Umwelt

Holz ist ein nachwachsender Rohstoff, der in großen Mengen verfügbar ist und vielfältigste Einsatzmöglichkeiten bietet.

 

In Österreich wächst auf 3,96 Mio. Hektar Wald - das entspricht 47 % der Gesamtfläche. 1,1 Milliarden m³ Holz stehen im österreichischen Wald zur Nutzung bereit. Zusätzlich wachsen jährlich 31 Mio. m³ Holz nach, wovon nur zwei Drittel genutzt werden. Strenge Forstgesetze sorgen dafür, dass nach einer Entnahme von Holz aus dem Wald auch wieder aufgeforstet wird und so die Nachhaltigkeit bestens gesichert ist.

 

Unser Unternehmen ist selbstverständlich PEFC-zertifiziert. Das Zertifikat wurde uns als erster österreichischer Holzweiterverarbeiter verliehen. Das gibt unseren Kunden die zusätzliche Sicherheit, dass das Holz in unseren Produkten aus nachhaltiger Waldbewirtschaftung stammt.

 

Der Wald speichert bei seinem Wachstum Kohlenstoff. Wenn Holz nicht genutzt wird, setzt der Zerfallprozess im Wald den Kohlenstoff wieder frei. Durch die Verwendung von Holzprodukten bleibt dieser Kohlenstoff über viele Jahre im Holz gespeichert und trägt damit zur Reduktion der CO2-Problematik bei.

Produkte aus Holz verbrauchen bei ihrer Herstellung wesentlich weniger Energie als etwa Stahl, Kunststoff oder Beton. Durch die Verwendung von Holz werden daher auch diese Ressourcen geschont.

 

Bei der Verarbeitung von Holz gibt es keinen Abfall. Anfallendes Restholz wird beispielsweise zu Papier oder umweltfreundlichen Brennstoffen verarbeitet.

Verleimung:

Zur Verleimung unserer Brettschichtholzträger und Deckenelemente verwenden wir einen Melamin-Harnstoffharzleim.

 

Die Verleimung ist wasser- und wetterfest und ergibt helle Leimfugen, die nicht nachdunkeln. Leim und Härter sind von der MPA Universität Stuttgart in Bezug auf seine Eignung geprüft worden. Es wurde festgestellt, dass der Leim für die Herstellung von tragenden geleimten Holzbauteilen für den Innen- und Außenbereich geeignet ist. Dieses Leimsystem ist formaldehydarm - beim vollständig ausgehärteten Produkt ist kein erhöhter Formaldehydwert im Vergleich zu unverleimtem Fichtenholz nachweisbar. Die Leimabwässer enthalten keinerlei gefährliche Chemikalien und können über das normale Abwassersystem entsorgt werden. Die fertig verleimten Produkte dürfen in Direktkontakt mit Nahrungsmitteln gebracht werden.

 

Unsere keilgezinkten Latten verleimen wir mit einem PVAc Kunstharzdispersionsleim.

 

Dieser Leim bindet durch die Verdunstung des Wassers physikalisch ab. Die Verleimung ergibt eine elastische Leimfuge, die kochwasserfest aber nicht UV-Licht beständig ist. Der Leim ist sowohl im flüssigen, wie im ausgehärteten Zustand völlig ungiftig und formaldehydfrei.